Digital Leaders 50 winners announced at House of Lords awards ceremony

The winners of the 2013 Digital Leaders 50 were announced on Monday night, during a ceremony hosted by Lord Knight of Weymouth at the House of Lords.

The Digital Leaders 50, was created by the Digital Leaders Programme in association with Digital by Default News, and recognises leaders and organisations who demonstrate a pioneering and sustainable approach to digital transformation. The winners will have shown leadership and innovation in harnessing digital technology and the internet as providers of information, key services and social interaction.

Nominations for the Digital Leaders 50 were received from the public via Digital by Default News to create a shortlist, which was then voted on by members of the Digital Leaders Network and their peers who cast over 9,000 votes, as well as being judged by an expert panel of judges, who selected the top 10 leaders in each category.

The awards ceremony saw the announcement of the full Digital Leaders 50 list, as well as the presentation of individual awards to the overall winner, the five category winners from the Central Government, Local Government, Elected Member, NGO and Industry categories and also the People’s Choice Award winner.

You can see the full list of winners below:


Digital Leaders Fifty 2013

Mike Bracken GDS

Awarded 1st Place & Overall Winner

Mike Bracken GDS

Category Winner, Central Government Category


Category Winner, NGO Category

Ian Watt

Aberdeen City Council
Category Winner, Local Government Category

Mozilla Ltd

Category Winner, Industry Category

RT Hon Francis Maude MP

Category Winner, Elected Member Category

Atos Ltd

People’s Choice Award

Central Government

Mike Bracken Executive Director of Digital, Government Digital Services Overall Position: 1

Liam Maxwell Chief Technology Officer, HM Government Overall Position: 12

Tom Loosemore Deputy Director, Government Digital Service Overall Position: 14

Ian Trenholm Chief Operating Officer at Defra Overall Position: 32

Sarah Carhart Service Manager for Working Age services in DWP, Digital Services Division Overall Position: 33

Chris Kendall Director at Planning Portal Overall Position: 34

Antonia Romeo Director General, Ministry of Justice Overall Position: 37

Leigh Mortimer Carer’s Allowance Product Manager, Digital Services Division, DWP Overall Position: 41

Adrian Goodall Senior eAccessibility Policy Adviser at DCMS Overall Position: 43

Myrtle Lloyd Network Services Director, DWP Overall Position: 46


Local Government

Ian Watt E-Government Manager at Aberdeen City Council Overall Position: 8

Dave Carter Head of Manchester Digital Development Agency Overall Position: 10

Geoff Connell CIO at Newham Borough Council Overall Position: 11

Stephen Hilton Director of the Futures Group at Bristol City Council Overall Position: 15

Annette King DWP Universal Credit Pilot Project Manager at Birmingham City Council Overall Position: 16

Caroline Cooper CIO at Buckinghamshire County Council Overall Position: 18

Simon Wakeman Joint Head of Communications and Marketing at East Sussex County Council and Medway Council Overall Position: 25

Josie Fraser ICT Strategy Lead (Children’s Capital) at Leicester City Council Overall Position: 30

Dr Dave Smith Chief Executive at Sunderland City Council Overall Position: 36

Bill Cotton Executive Director, Environment & Economy at Bournemouth Borough Council Overall Position: 39


Elected Member

RT Hon Francis Maude MP Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General, MP for Horsham
Overall Position: 3

Cllr Laura Robertson-Collins Liverpool City Council Overall Position: 7

Tom Watson MP MP for West Bromwich East Overall Position: 21

Ed Vaizey MP Minister for Culture, Communications & Creative Industries & MP for Wantage & Didcot
Overall Position: 29

Cllr Muhammed Butt Brent Council Overall Position: 38

Andrew Miller MP Chair of the Science & Technology Committee, MP for Ellesmere Port & Neston
Overall Position: 40

Rory Stewart MP MP for Penrith and the Border Overall Position: 42

Steve Webb MP Minister of State (DWP) & MP for Thornbury & Yate Overall Position: 45

Lord Richard Allan of Hallam Overall Position: 47

Adam Afriyie MP MP for Windsor Overall Position: 48


Non-Governmental Organisation

BBC Overall Position: 2

AbilityNet Overall Position: 6

Go ON UK Overall Position: 9

Nesta Overall Position: 20

Post Office Overall Position: 22

Affinity Sutton Overall Position: 23

Nominet Trust Overall Position: 24

People’s Voice Media Overall Position: 27

Tinder Foundation Overall Position: 28

TechCity Overall Position: 31



Mozilla Ltd Overall Position: 4

Google Overall Position: 5

Kainos Software Ltd Overall Position: 13

Learning Pool Overall Position: 17

Lloyds Banking Group Overall Position: 19

Atos Overall Position: 26

Facebook Overall Position: 35

Skyscape Cloud Services Overall Position: 44

Memset Overall Position: 49

Visa Europe Overall Position: 50



Related reading