Councils benefit from LGA’s Digital Experts Programme

Communities living in a number of council areas will see more services go online thanks to funding for a new programme which aims to promote the successful use of digital technology.

Twenty-seven councils have been successful in securing money from the Digital Experts programme, run by the Local Government Association (LGA).

The programme was set up to help councils develop their use of technology by learning from the digital tools and approaches which have already been successfully implemented elsewhere.

A total of £390,000 was awarded, with single councils receiving £10,000 and groups of councils receiving £25,000.

Cllr Peter Fleming, Chairman of the LGA’s Improvement and Innovation Board, said: There is a lot of excellent working going on in councils to develop and implement innovative digital ways of providing services. The Digital Experts programme will give a helping hand to those councils who are keen to draw on the learning of their peers and quickly implement what has worked well elsewhere, and we look forward to seeing the results.

“It is great to see councils learning from each other and adopting the digital tools which have already been developed. We want to support the sector to share these assets more effectively so there will be bigger benefits for more councils.”

The successful councils are:

• Blackpool Council
• Bournemouth, Dorset and Poole LRF
• Christchurch and East Dorset Councils
• Dacorum Borough Council
• Dorset County Council and all six district/borough councils in Dorset
• Essex County Council
• Gloucestershire and Gloucester City
• Lancaster City, Preston City and Fylde Borough Council
• Luton Council
• Milton Keynes Council
• Newcastle City Council
• Newcastle Under Lyme
• North Warwickshire Borough Council and Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council
• Nottingham City Council
• Reading Borough Council
• Redcar and Cleveland
• Solihull MBC
• South Holland and Breckland District Councils
• Southampton Council
• Stafford Borough Council and Cannock Chase Council
• Staffordshire County Council
• Stockton-on-Tees
• Test Valley Borough Council
• Thurrock Council
• Westminster CC, RB of Kensington and Chelsea & LB Hammersmith and Fulham
• Wirral Council
• Wyre Council


Related reading