New Digital Outcomes and Specialists framework to be split into 4 categories of service

The Government Digital Service (GDS) has published a new post on the Digital Marketplace blog providing further information on the new Digital Outcomes and Specialists framework.

As Digital by Default recently reported, in February next year the GDS and the Crown Commercial Service (CCS) will be replacing the current Digital Services 2 (DS2) with Digital Outcomes and Specialists (DOS).  (Suppliers that are currently on the DS2 framework will be required to apply to the new DOS.)


Four categories of service

Digital Outcomes and Specialists will accompany G-Cloud and Crown Hosting on the Digital Marketplace.

According to the post, the new framework will be split into four different categories of service.

Those categories are listed as:

  1. Digital Outcomes
  2. Digital Specialists
  3. User research studios
  4. User research participants

To learn about the supplier requirements of each category, click here.


Evaluation method

For this new framework, the majority of the supplier evaluation will be carried out by buyers when suppliers respond to a brief for a specific piece of work, and will not be done at the application stage.

Despite this, buyers can “use the information that suppliers provide on their services in their application to help them evaluate”.

There will be no cap on the number of suppliers on the framework.

According to the blog post, buying and selling via DOS will lower the time and cost “traditionally associated with procurement”; enable both buyers and suppliers to talk to each other so they can determine whether there is a “good fit” and offer more suppliers the chance to “support digital transformation across the whole of the public sector”.


Application process

To help suppliers start to prepare their application, the draft Invitation to Tender (ITT) documents are being published this week.  They will include: the framework agreement, supplier declaration and the service description questions. (The blog post added that “both of these documents are subject to change, and that, if anything does, this will be communication when the application opens.)

The following application information and guidance has been provided:

As with G-Cloud 7, suppliers will use a single system on the Digital Marketplace to apply. The Digital Outcomes and Specialists framework will be open for applications in November 2015. In the meantime, suppliers can create an account using the ‘create supplier account’ link in the main navigation on the Digital Marketplace homepage. Once you have an account, you’ll receive an email when Digital Outcomes and Specialists opens.

“We’ll publish more details on how to apply in another blog post shortly, along with a timetable outlining expected dates.

“Sign up to our blog for updates on the Digital Outcomes and Specialists framework and follow us on Twitter @GOVUKdigimkt.”

Related reading