Public sector recognised as Digital Leaders announces DL100 Finalists

Digital Leaders, the global initiative for promoting effective, long-term digital transformation across government and industries, has today announced the finalists who make up the DL100 list for 2017 and opened the public vote.

The independent list recognises 100 people and organisations across the UK who are leading the way in digital transformation in all sectors.

The 100 finalists that make up the list will now compete for the public vote in one of 10 categories. This year’s list is made up of individuals and organisations with 50 private sector, 29 from the public sector and 20 from the non-profit sector.

Leading by example, the DL100 list has a 50/50 gender split, recognising the diversity in digital transformation roles and the leading women across the industry. A figure not seen commonly on many industry lists.

Nine UK regions are represented in this year’s list reflecting the national reach of the Digital Leaders Community. Outside of London and the South East, the strongest regions were Scotland, the North West, Yorkshire and Humberside, the South West and the East of England.


Public sector finalists

The most hotly contested category each year is the Digital Leader of the Year Category. Previous winners have included Martha Lane Fox, Maggie Philbin and Mike Bracken. Competing for this accolade this year from the Public Sector are Mayank Prakash of DWP, Lisa Dawson of Newcastle City Council and Richard Benham from The National Cyber Management Centre.

Some of the greatest innovations in Digital Public Services have come from the Local Government Sector. The Digital Council of the Year award recognises those councils that over the last year have delivered measurable digital transformation either internally in their organisation or in the way they are providing their public service. Croydon, Ealing, the Greater London Authority, Camden, Manchester City Council, North Ayrshire, Renfrewshire, Aylesbury Vale, Devon County council and East Staffordshire Borough Council are in the running for this award.

The Digital Public Service Innovation of the Year is another hotly contested award as digital transformation of public services in the UK remains a key part of the modernisation of public services. Finalists and details of how to vote for them can be found here.

Lord Francis Maude of Horsham, Chair of Digital Leaders, said: “The Digital Leaders 100 list 2017 is once again highlighting the progress that has been made in digitally transforming the UK across all sectors.

“Our Digital Leaders community have pulled out all the stops to let us know about the hidden heroes, quietly getting on with the UK’s digital transformation without themselves seeking recognition. It’s great to see such a strong list from outside London this year reflecting our own National programme and the growing importance that digital transformation has in organisations irrespective of size or sector.”

The final list order and category winners will be announced at the DL100 Awards Dinner at St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel on 22 June 2017.

To vote in the DL100 and find out more about the nominations, go to:

Related reading