Digital Leaders announces the DL100 Finalists

Digital Leaders has today announced the finalists who make up the DL100 list for 2018 and opened the public vote.

The independent list recognises 100 people and organisations across the UK who are leading the way in digital transformation in all sectors. Previously, the list has featured industry names such as: Martha Lane-Fox, Mike Bracken and Eileen Burbidge.

The 100 finalists that make up the list will now compete for the public vote in one of 10 categories. This year’s list is made up of individuals and organisations with 44 private sector, 32 from the public sector and 24 from the nonprofit sector.

Showing strong diversity, the DL100 2018 list has 65% female members, highlighting the leading women now active across the UK’s digital sector.

A total 11 out of the 12 DL UK regions are represented in this year’s list also reflecting the national reach of the Digital Leaders Community. Outside of London and the South East, the strongest regions were Scotland, the South West, Yorkshire and the North West.

Jacqueline de Rojas CBE, Chair of Digital Leaders, said: “The Digital Leaders 100 list 2018 once again highlights the progress in digitally transforming the UK. Our community of Digital Leaders have shone a light on the many hidden heroes, quietly getting on with the nation’s digital transformation. It is fabulous to see such a strong list from outside London this year reflecting our own inclusive national programme and the growing importance of digital transformation on companies irrespective of size or sector.”

The most hotly contested category each year is the Digital Leader of the Year Category. Previous winners have included Martha Lane Fox, Maggie Philbin and Mike Bracken. This year’s list includes:

  1. Gillian Docherty, CEO, The Data Lab
  2. Michael Docherty, Director of Digital and Supporter Experience, Cancer Research UK
  3. Alison Galvin, HR Director, Invotra
  4. Ella Goldner, Co Founder and General Manager, Zinc
  5. Sue Griffin, Head of User Support Services, DWP Digital
  6. Priya Lakhani, Founder CEO, CENTURY Tech
  7. Mark Layzell, CEO,
  8. Melissa Phillips, Programme Producer, BAFTA
  9. Kate Russell, Technology Reporter & Author, Working the Cloud Ltd
  10. Jacky Wright, Chief Digital and Information Officer HMRC

But this Year the newest category “Young Digital Leader of the Year” is likely to draw as much interest. This year’s finalists includes:

  1. Vimla Appadoo, Service Designer, Department for Work and Pensions
  2. Chayann Bradford, Student, Ada, the National College for Digital Skills
  3. Ruben De Noronha, Chairman, RDN Companies
  4. Solomon Gilbert, CEO, Ferox Security
  5. Emily Godden, Artist & Creative Technologist, Virtually There Studio
  6. Myles Jardine, Founder, GrantFairy
  7. Sam Patchitt, Co-Founder, CFO, COO, YellowLabel
  8. Shannon Sullivan, Site Reliability Engineering Apprentice, Google
  9. Larissa Suzuki, Head of Data Science, Founders4Schools
  10. Ben Towers, Tech Entrepreneur

The final list order and category winners will be announced at the DL100 Awards Dinner at St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel on 21 June 2018.
To vote in the DL100 and find out more, go to:

Related reading